top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Lamos

When You Don't Feel Like a "Game-Changing Human"

I was chatting with a friend the other day and they nonchalantly called me a "game-changing human." Of course my first response was, "wow I am not that type of human." Because of the way I had grown up, the lies that I believed about myself, and the trauma that I had experienced, I fell back into the way my brain was trained to think. This blog post is in NO way puffing myself up, and telling you how amazing I am, but actually the opposite. I want to show you that the most confident people, with the most bright smiles... are also human, and have to keep ourselves in check. :)


I think a lot of the times the way we carry ourselves, or the confidence we feel is tied to other people. There, I said it. Not to call you all out, but to also call myself out. We hit the goal, we get the job, the right person says the right thing to us, the relationship works out, or put your own statement in there. THAT is when we feel like the "game-changing human" that we are. But, what happens when the day is normal, or its not great... what do we do then? What happens when the big high wares off, and we are left with ourselves. In that moment, we are still game-changing humans. I am still a game-changing human.


I'm sure you have heard the statement "it's okay not to be okay." Well, that statement rings true for everyone. It rings true for me sitting in my apartment, and it rings true for the most famous/successful human living in California with a mansion. Both of us will have days where we don't feel on top of the world, and we will have days where things just seem to fall into place. But, I think it all comes down to owning who you are as a human, without the goals, other people, big wins, etc. People talk a lot about being co-dependant on other people, but I think that could stem to being co-dependant on life itself... on being busy, on filling the voids, and on making sure we hit everything just right in the day. You, just you, without all of that, are a game-changing human.


What do I do when I don't feel that reality about myself? I take the things that I love doing, and I own those things for ME. Because we often fill our days with community, and doing the things we love along-side other people... we forget why we love them. I like to own my running journey for myself, and realize the way I feel when I set aside time for myself. We are told often to put others first, and yes I do believe that others ARE to be put first. But, I also believe that is where burn out sets in. I am an Enneagram 2, with a strong love for other people. (This type is called "the helper") I often over-extend myself, and put my own mental health to the side. I need to be my priority so that I can show up for the people in my life. It's a cycle. When I am MY priority, and then I start to slowly feel like that "game-changing human."


I hope this blog post was a raw representation that we are all figuring it out, and it's okay to not feel on top of the world at all times. You really are a "game-changing human."





738 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

110k

bottom of page