top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Lamos

Pacing Yourself 101

Starting out as a runner can be intimidating, and seem impossible at times. What I have learned is that it all comes down to pacing yourself. Truly anyone can get there if you ease into it. Rick Canning (New Leaf Running Co.) once said in a webinar, "the key in training is that you need to start from where you are, and not where you wish you were." I brought this statement into my training, and the lengths I have gone from easing into my running journey, has blown my mind. I was only a few months into running, and I would feel like crap about not being able to hammer out a trail 25k with a crazy pace. So, I would zip out on the trail, and get frustrated when I would hit a wall a few kms in, or even sooner. I have mentioned this in a previous blog... but I was expecting my body to do something it has never done before. I needed to show my body what it would feel like to be on my feet for long periods of time. Just like learning a new sport, my body was adjusting.


  1. Pin point where your "reality" is in your journey. Where are you at? Be honest with yourself, so that the journey is not filled with being frustrated with what you can't do yet. If you are currently going for walks/hikes and would like to try out running, maybe start with running for a few minutes, and walking for a few minutes. Build up from there. If you are feeling comfortable with running 5-6k on the road, but would like to get into trail running, maybe try running a slower pace on a trail with hiking the hills. For me, my reality for my long runs right now is that I have built up to a place of being able to do 25-30 on weekends with decent elevation... with hiking most of the hills. I say long runs, because my training is aimed at my 50k this summer. But, when I started, my reality was running/walking 5k on the road. I bridged that gap with accepting where I was, and building up slowly! Did I get impatient sometimes? Yes. But, I avoided the aspect of becoming frustrated with myself because I couldn't do what I wanted yet. YET. But, now I am where I wanted to be 3 months ago... and my goals are different. Slow build. I have to check myself to make sure that I am still proud of what I accomplish in this building stage, even though I'm not exactly where I want to be yet.

  2. Find your relaxed pace. It is natural to feel like you want to just take off quick when starting a run. But, the danger in that, if you are just beginning, is the wall you will hit. Mark, who leads Saint John Trail Running, and I run with often, always says that it will most likely be uncomfortable how slow you need to start to last a long distance. Start out with a slow jog, and keep your breathing controlled. Learn the art of pulling back a bit, so that you can have the extra energy to push at the end of your run. The times that I really focus in on putting this practice in place, 90% of the time I feel like I could keep going at the end. Yes, work in the runs that will push your pace, and be more of a "workout" run, but also make sure you ease into it. I guarantee you will feel so much better if you find your easy pace.

I write these blogs as if I have been running for years, but just know that I am right there with you. I say these things confidently because I was just a "beginner runner," and kind of still am. I have been running for a year now, and the only way I can do the big runs that I do today is because I learned the art of easing into a run, and being patient with myself. My reality in my running journey has changed, because I consistently put in the work weekly. This past weekend, I did my first hill repeat day at Poley Mountain, and ended up getting 5000ft of elevation in my 21k run. I honestly did not think that I could hit that much, but because I eased into it, AND I have been consistent in my training... I could do that hard push. Yes, you better believe I did hike the hills on that run. Do not be ashamed of easing into your own pace. The part I love the most about running, is that we are all at different places, and we can celebrate each other along the way.


Remember, "the key in training is that you need to start from where you are, and not where you wish you were." Slow and steady wins the race, or at least finishes the race. ;)







783 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

110k

bottom of page