top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Lamos

My Current "Why"

I am a huge believer in keeping your "why" front and center in everything that you do. That being said, I also believe that a person's "why" changes. Often. AND often we have many. This specific "why" is not just for me, but for you as well. Often we "show up," or "bring our best selves" for others. Which is totally natural. But, my "why" currently for running is because I want to be my best self for me. Life, running, work... *insert your current situation here,* is unexpected, and tough. Recently I have leaned into the importance of not looking ahead to the "someday" of being fulfilled. Showing up and being my best self for me is important so I can count on me when things get uncertain. I really do not want this to come across like a motivational speech, but more sharing from my own processing lately.


My next "why" is near and dear to my heart. Every Tuesday afternoon I am reminded of what the day brings, and the fact that 20-30 ladies are about to run the trails with me. I say it time and time again, but Saint John Trail Running is the most loving community I have been a part of. There have been many times that I go into a Tuesday group run feeling low, or feeling like I am not equipped for this. And, I leave feeling filled to the brim because of the inspiring ladies that chose to show up and spend their evening with us. The smiles that I see when everyone walks up to the parking lot, and the smiles that I see at the end saying "I can't wait for next week" brings an extra pep to my step. Saint John Trail Running is hands down amazing, and has lit a fire in the Saint John community. Why would I not show up and be my best for that?! Come on. :)


But just wait, let me define "best self." Because I know you are thinking that means being perfect at what I am doing, or running the hardest, or being in a perfect mindset ALL of the time. "Best self" is different for everyone, and it may be different every day, or every hour! Some days my "best self" is being patient with the process and accepting that things do not feel amazing that day... and that is okay. Some days my "best self" may be hitting a huge goal, and feeling on top of the world. I want my "why" to always respect me, and give room to accept circumstances that are far from ideal. "Best self" is caring for you, because we can't love others the way we should without caring for ourselves first.


In my last "why" blog post, I wrote: My "why" truly comes down to the fact that I love to see what I can accomplish, and tearing down the insecurities daily. I have dealt with some pretty massive struggles in my life thus far, as a 24 year old. But, if you let the hurt fuel the fire of your passion/drive... WOW. I run today because I love to connect my emotional strength to my physical strength. This is still true today, but it is amazing to see how your "why" shifts as you grow, and develop. My mindset has now shifted into "I am confident, and now I want to honour myself."


If you need a "why" for today, no matter how you apply it... you can borrow mine. "My why for today is because I deserve my best self for me, whatever that looks like."






728 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

110k

bottom of page